IVCC names McCormack Scholars


2022 McCormack Scholars are (left) Ryan Gochanour, Hope Beelman, Andrew Gochanour, Emily Schaibley and Paige Blackburn. The McCormack award is IVCC’s highest academic achievement.

IV Leader Staff

Illinois Valley Community College named five Thomas J. McCormack Scholars this spring including twins.

McCormack Scholars are Hope Beelman of Peru, Paige Blackburn of Spring Valley, Andrew and Ryan Gochanour of Wenona and Emily Schaibley of Marseilles.

To earn the college’s highest academic achievement, McCormack’s maintain a minimum 3.75 grade point average in at least 14 hours over three consecutive semesters.

The award honors IVCC’s first director, Dr. Thomas J. McCormack, who served La Salle-Peru-Oglesby Junior College from 1924 to 1932. The Princeton University-educated McCormack was renowned as one of the nation’s outstanding educators.