IVCC names McCormack Scholars


Photo submitted

IVCC McCormack Scholars are Gabrielle Englehaupt, left, Jake Zeman, Jenna Grabowski, Owen Wolfe, Devin Borchsenius, Skylar Arwood, Riley Boehler, Cole Kestner, Victoria Page, Nathaniel Townsell and Isabel Lueck. Unavailable for the photo were Mary Kupperschmid, Grace Lowe and Hunter Witzman. Scholar photos were taken individually and placed together by photographer Jennifer Heredia of Imagine U Studio in Spring Valley.

IV Leader Staff

Illinois Valley Community College named 14 Thomas J. McCormack Scholars this spring.

To earn the college’s highest academic achievement, McCormack’s maintain a minimum 3.75 grade point average in at least 14 semester hours over three consecutive semesters.     

McCormack Scholars are Skylar Arwood of Utica, Riley Boehler and Grace Lowe of Ottawa, Devin Borchsenius of Sheridan, Gabrielle Englehaupt of Ladd, Jenna Grabowski and Cole Kestner of Streator, Mary Kupperschmid and Jake Zeman of Peru, Isabel Lueck of Oglesby, Victoria Page of Standard, Nathaniel Townsell of Marseilles, Hunter Witzman of Lostant and Owen Wolfe of Tonica.

 The award honors IVCC’s first director from 1924 to 1932, Dr. Thomas J. McCormack. The college was then La Salle-Peru-Oglesby Junior College and the Princeton University-educated McCormack was renowned as one of the nation’s outstanding educators.