Hoffman named Illinois’ PTK New Century Transfer Pathway Scholar

IVLeader, Staff Writer

Illinois Valley Community College’s Martha Hoffman has been named a 2018 New Century Transfer Pathway Scholar and will receive a $2,250 scholarship.

The sophomore from Earlville was among more than 2,000 students nominated from 1,600 colleges across the country. Only one New Century Transfer Scholar is selected from each state; they will be recognized April 30 at the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC)

Convention in Dallas as part of Phi Theta Kappa’s Presidents Breakfast.

Scholars are selected based on academic accomplishments, leadership, activities, and for how they extend their intellectual talents beyond the classroom. The program is sponsored by The Coca-Cola Foundation, the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation, Phi Theta Kappa and AACC.

Hoffman, the daughter of Winifred and the late Kenneth Hoffman, was the 2016 Earlville High School valedictorian. Next fall, she will transfer to Northern Illinois University to study communications.

“Over the past two years, Martha has been a model student leader for our agriculture program, the student newspaper and our Phi Theta Kappa chapter. I have zero doubt she will thrive at NIU and in her communications career,” said IVCC President Jerry Corcoran.

Phi Theta Kappa President and CEO Dr. Lynn Tincher-Ladner said, “We congratulate Martha for receiving this prestigious scholarship and are honored to partner with Coca-Cola and the AACC to recognize her achievements.”

Phi Theta Kappa is the premier honor society recognizing the academic achievements of community college students. The Society is made up of more than 3.5 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in nine nations.