Goetz Elected Chair at IVCC

Michaela Smith, Staff Writer

Jane Goetz of Ottawa was elected chair at a special reorganizational meeting of the Illinois Valley Community College board Monday. Goetz was elected to a six-year term in 2013.
Trustees also elected Everett Solon of Streator vice chair and David Mallery of Hennepin secretary. Board attorney Walter J. Zukowski, Treasurer Cheryl Roelfsema and secretary to the board Jeanne Hayden were all reappointed.
Goetz made the following committee appointments: Jay McCracken of Hennepin as the Illinois Community College Trustees Association representative and herself as the alternate; closed session minutes: McCracken, chair, and Amy Sipovic and Angie
Stevenson both of Ottawa; facilities: Mallery chair, Melissa Olivero of Peru and Stevenson; audit finance: Solon chair, Mallery and McCracken; and planning: Sipovic chair, Solon and Stevenson.
Totals from the canvass of the April 4 election in which Stevenson, Mallery and McCracken were elected to six-year terms, were: Stevenson 12,054, Mallery 11,468, McCracken 10,912 and Francis (Frank) Zeller of Peru 9,462.
Finally, the board voted to keep meeting times to 6:30 p.m. the second Thursday of each month.