SGA election results are in

Sophomore elections for IVCC Student Government Association were in early April, with a total of 183 ballots cast and eight positions filled.

Becca Herrmann of Spring Valley was elected president with 154 votes. When asked on her goals as president, Herrmann outlined three major plans. “My first goal is to get bubble soccer as a fun student activity,” Herrmann said. “I also want to spread the word that IVCC is a really good option because I think a lot of high schoolers don’t realize that it’s a lot cheaper than a university. I’d also like to ease their transition to college.”

Austin Burnette of Mendota was elected student trustee with 101 votes. Burnette says he got involved with student government due to a perceived disconnect between students and the Board of Trustees with regard to policy and communication.

“I’m really excited to work with the Board.” Burnette says. “My primary goal is to increase our pursuit of grants and scholarships as a means of increasing revenue, which would ideally reduce the growth in tuition.”

Other students elected include Katie Destri, Spring Valley, as vice president, Cody O’Brien, Lostant, as treasurer, and Vanessa Olivares, Spring Valley, as secretary. With 109 votes, Travis Sauers, Streator, was elected sophomore representative. Monica Leonard, Mendota, and Kaitlin Raineri, Peru, were voted onto the sophomore programming board.