Nominations taken for faculty, counselor excellence award

Matthew Gerding, IV Leader editor

Students may nominate an outstanding teacher or counselor for the Stephen Charry Memorial Award for Teaching Excellence through Dec. 10.
This award is given to one nominee every year in recognition of their teaching, leadership, professional development and their contributions to both IVCC and the community.

“Being nominated by a student made receiving the Charry award even more meaningful to me,” said Lori Cinotte, who received the award last year. “Instructors receive feedback in many different ways in the classroom; however, with this award, I know that a student was motivated enough by what was happening in the classroom to take time to fill out the nomination form.”

The nominating guidelines say, “The nominee should be the kind of person who challenges students to pursue goals, prepares students to make life choices, improves student’s skills for employment and/or success in their academic endeavors, motivates students to be an active and concerned citizen of the community and is active on campus and/or in the community.”

Students, faculty, counselors, academic and student service administrators and IVCC president Jerry Corcoran can all nominate faculty and counselors for the award. Only full-time faculty and counselors who have been employed by IVCC for three years are eligible. Recipients of the award in the previous three years are not eligible for nomination.

The winner of the award is nominated by the college for the Illinois Community College Trustees Association (ICCTA) Annual Outstanding Faculty Member Award, is recognized at IVCC’s annual recognition event and is awarded a $500 stipend.

“All of our faculty and counselors work hard to make a difference in their students’ lives and help them learn skills and gain knowledge that will serve them in their future careers and coursework.  I encourage students to recognize a faculty member or counselor who has made a difference in their education, “ said Cinotte.

Nomination deadline is Dec. 10. Once nominations are gathered full-time faculty members and counselors will score the final candidates, and the winner will be announced in the Spring.Nomination forms are available by visiting .